The Crystal Ball

31/12/2010 at 11:00 1 comentario

 

My psychic at work

Like I do every year, yesterday I went to my psychic and asked her what I can expect from the new year. Usually I ask about health, love, business… money! But this time I decided to be more generous and asked what the world trends for 2011 will be. This is what she saw in her crystal ball:

  • Less is more. The crisis and the need to save resources and reduce waste will lead to more awareness and a more ethical, responsible consumption. We will see the rise of customer activism and conscious purchasing. I think my psychic read the article abour ethical consumption published by my friend Akhila Vijayaraghavan on justmeans.
  • Power to the people. Customers and citizens will have more power to influence what governments and companies do. Corporations and institutions will be more exposed to public opinion. This is due to the power of social media and new information channels (see Wikileaks). Stakeholder capitalism instead of stockholder capitalism.
  • Back to values. My psychic told me that companies and people will go back to values long forgotten, such as honesty and hard work. And new values will arise such as transparency and strategy (long-termism).

This is what my psychic told me, but I have the feeling she just told me what I wanted to hear…

Anyway, a prosperous, healthy, sustainable and happy 2011!

 

Like I do every year, yesterday I went to my psychic to ask her what I can expect from the new year. Usually I ask about health, love, business… money! But this time I decided to be more generous and asked what will be the world trends for 2011. This is what she saw in her crystal ball:

Less is more. The crisis and the need to save resources and reduce waste will lead to more awareness and a more responsible consumption. We will see the rise of customer activism and conscious purchasing. I think my psychic read the article written by my friend Akhila Vijayaraghavan on justmeans about ethical consumption.

Power to the people. Customers and citizens will have more power to influence what governments and companies do. Corporations and institutions will be more exposed to public opinion. This is due to the power of social media and new information channels (see Wikileaks). Stakeholder capitalism instead of shareholder capitalism.

Back to values. My psychic told me that companies and people will go back to values long forgotten, such as honesty and hard work. And new values will arise such as transparency and strategy (long-termism).

This is what my psychic told me, but I have the feeling she just told me what I wanted to hear…

Anyway, a prosperous, healthy, sustainable and happy 2011!

Entry filed under: Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability. Tags: .

My CSR Christmas List The Three Kings of CSR

1 comentario Add your own

Deja un comentario

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Juan Villamayor

Consultor en Responsabilidad y Sostenibilidad Empresarial (RSE). Economista y MBA radicado en Barcelona, con un perfil eminentemente internacional.

Es posible generar más valor mientras se aplican principios éticos. Al final todos salen beneficiados: las empresas, la sociedad y el medio ambiente. Eso es lo que yo llamo "Negocios Con Sentido Común".

Página web de Juan

Feeds

Introduzca su dirección de email para suscribirse a este blog y recibir notificaciones por email cada vez que se publique un nuevo artículo.

Únete a otros 3.702 seguidores

Artículos anteriores


